Smoke Generator -Adapter Plate

Started by Boybach, November 29, 2006, 12:27:02 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Boybach

Hello I'm a raw newbie
I am loooking for some advice having just been given a new Bradley Smoke Generator as a birthday present
1. Can I attatch the adapter plate to a PLASTIC bin rather than a cardboard box for cold smoking?.
2. Would I be able to use the bin itself to cold smoke? (it is about 1foot square by about 3 feet high) I have thought about hanging food at the top
3. Would the heat from the generator be too much to prevent cold-smoking?
4. And finally would it be preferable to just use the  bin just as a go-between and pipe the smoke from ther to a seperate box in which to put the food.

Sorry for being so naive but I would really like to get this right and prove to some members of my family I can make good smoked salmon for Christmas. I am in the UK and ambient temps at this time of the year will be around 5 degrees C about 38F
Thanks for any help
Regards to all
Boybach

Click On The Smoker For Our Time Tested And Proven Recipes

manxman

Hi Boybach and welcome to the forum,

In answer to your questions, yes you could use a plastic bin rather than a cardboard box. I think TomG posted a picture of his setup a while ago that included a plastic bin. Both require setting up in such a way that the heater element does not touch the sides of the cardboard/plastic (obviously!) but I have used cardboard boxes extensively and never had one ignite/burn.  ;)

However I think the heat off the smoke generator plate may create too much heat to cold smoke effectively if also hanging the food in the same plastic bin so personally I would stick to the tumble dryer hose set up that presumambly you are aware of if you are aware of cardboard boxes. Better to be safe than end up hot smoking your salmon.