Author Topic: Internal meat temp. limit  (Read 7432 times)

Offline iceman

  • Member Extraordinaire
  • ******
  • Posts: 4,661
  • 9 out of 10 people like BBQ. The 10th person lied!
Re: Internal meat temp. limit
« Reply #15 on: December 12, 2006, 08:58:46 am »
Boy Hab talk about a kid in a candy store! Good thing I didn't have a credit card on me when I was looking at that site. :o :D Thanks for the link. COME ON SANTA!!! ::) ;D

Offline Habanero Smoker

  • Member Extraordinaire
  • ******
  • Posts: 14,621
  • KCBS - Master Certified Barbecue Judge
Re: Internal meat temp. limit
« Reply #16 on: December 12, 2006, 03:22:42 pm »
Yeah I know. I am getting very close to purchasing one of their break down smokers. I just can't afford it right now.


     I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)

Offline Nonnymus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Internal meat temp. limit
« Reply #17 on: December 12, 2006, 07:04:12 pm »
Nonny;

If money is not an issue, take a look at this site. If you are looking for something immediate, one of the devices on this site may already meet your needs.

http://www.thebbqguru.com/

The Power Raptor  http://tinyurl.com/y9bmrz  sure sounds like what we're talking about.  It doesn't say if it works with the DIGITAL Bradley, but my instinct says that it would,  I wrote the folks to specifically ask, and will report back.

Nonny

Offline owrstrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,197
Re: Internal meat temp. limit
« Reply #18 on: December 12, 2006, 08:08:46 pm »
nonnymus... i will be in henderson nv on jan 6... 7... 8...


let me know if you want to meet up...


owrstrich
i am johnny owrstrich... i disapprove of this post...

Offline Arcs_n_Sparks

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,294
Re: Internal meat temp. limit
« Reply #19 on: December 12, 2006, 08:29:07 pm »
If money is not an issue...

Please send your excess to me....  :D :D :D

Arcs_n_Sparks

Offline Habanero Smoker

  • Member Extraordinaire
  • ******
  • Posts: 14,621
  • KCBS - Master Certified Barbecue Judge
Re: Internal meat temp. limit
« Reply #20 on: December 13, 2006, 03:18:03 am »
Nonny;

If money is not an issue, take a look at this site. If you are looking for something immediate, one of the devices on this site may already meet your needs.

http://www.thebbqguru.com/

The Power Raptor  http://tinyurl.com/y9bmrz  sure sounds like what we're talking about.  It doesn't say if it works with the DIGITAL Bradley, but my instinct says that it would,  I wrote the folks to specifically ask, and will report back.

Nonny

I didn't know you had the digital model; which I should have realized by reading where the thread is located :-[. The only excuse is that I've been busy and rushing through the posts.

The power to the heating element from the smoker has to be plugged into the back of the Raptor. That connection is a standard three prong electrical plug. Does the digital have a 3 prong plug that provides power to the heating element? If you try to hook it up by plugging the generator into the Raptor, it will interrupt the power to your generator and puck advance.


     I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)

Offline Nonnymus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Internal meat temp. limit
« Reply #21 on: December 13, 2006, 03:19:56 pm »
Nonny;

If money is not an issue, take a look at this site. If you are looking for something immediate, one of the devices on this site may already meet your needs.

http://www.thebbqguru.com/


The Power Raptor sure seems to be what we're talking about, but there's no mention about it being OK with the Digital Bradley smoker.  My guess is that it'd work, and just set the Bradley to a high temp and let the Power Raptor do the work.

Nonny

Offline Nonnymus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Internal meat temp. limit
« Reply #22 on: December 13, 2006, 03:21:21 pm »
nonnymus... i will be in henderson nv on jan 6... 7... 8...


let me know if you want to meet up...


owrstrich

I'd love to, but we have a trip planned and also some company that would overlap. 

Nonny

Offline Nonnymus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Internal meat temp. limit
« Reply #23 on: December 13, 2006, 03:26:31 pm »
Nonny;

If money is not an issue, take a look at this site. If you are looking for something immediate, one of the devices on this site may already meet your needs.

http://www.thebbqguru.com/

The Power Raptor  http://tinyurl.com/y9bmrz  sure sounds like what we're talking about.  It doesn't say if it works with the DIGITAL Bradley, but my instinct says that it would,  I wrote the folks to specifically ask, and will report back.

Nonny

I didn't know you had the digital model; which I should have realized by reading where the thread is located :-[. The only excuse is that I've been busy and rushing through the posts.

The power to the heating element from the smoker has to be plugged into the back of the Raptor. That connection is a standard three prong electrical plug. Does the digital have a 3 prong plug that provides power to the heating element? If you try to hook it up by plugging the generator into the Raptor, it will interrupt the power to your generator and puck advance.

The Digital has an output cord that runs from the digital controls (on the puck dispenser) over to the heating element.  From what I read about the Power Raptor on their website, you would merely put the Power Raptor in "series" by pluggint the Bradley cord that exits the puck dispenser into the Power Raptor and then the Power Raptor's cord into the heating element. That would leave the Bradley's digital thermometer intact and with the heat set high, the Power Raptor would interrrupt the circuit to control the heating element.  I posted a question to the manufacturer's forum and will report back on what I learn.

Nonny

Offline Habanero Smoker

  • Member Extraordinaire
  • ******
  • Posts: 14,621
  • KCBS - Master Certified Barbecue Judge
Re: Internal meat temp. limit
« Reply #24 on: December 13, 2006, 05:50:25 pm »
I'm not familiar with the set up of the digital, and having difficulty understanding how you would set it up. It sounds like you want to plug the generator directly into the Raptor. If you set it up that way you will interrupt the power to the generator, which can cause the pucks to jam, and also wouldn't it also disrupt the setting on the digital display. I have the original BS, and when I first receive the Raptor/Guru I accidentally hooked it up wrong. I plugged the generator directly into the Rapture, and although the temperature was being controlled properly, the on/off power cycle interrupted the feeding of the pucks and the mechanism got jammed.

I'll be interested in what they say.


     I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)