First Brisket A Little Dry

Started by Sully, January 03, 2007, 08:54:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sully

New to the BS and this forum and loving it!  Very impressed with the collective wisdom.  Got my new BS (standard 4 rack stainless) for my b-day recently.  Smoked a whole chicken, sausage and some ribs like I was a pro.  Had great luck with an 8lb pork butt, never tasted pig so tasty and moist. 

My only stumble came with a brisket.  While the flavor and smoke taste were great, it just wasn't as moist as I had hoped.  Here is what I did: 

I bought a good looking 8lb brisket and took home to prepare for cooking.  Did not freeze.  Rubbed it down with a good mustard and standard home grown rub.  Wrapped and fridged overnight and next day.  Put in BS at 12AM (trying to time it right for Xmas lunch the next day. Up late playing Santa anyway!)  Preheated to 225 and placed on second rack from bottom.  Closed door and let the hickory burn.  I checked it at 3hrs and sprayed down with mix of olive oil and apple juice.  The internal temp was a little bit hard to regulate.  I haven't quite gotten the hang of getting it regulated.  I've been reading up on the PID and its tempting but I'm going to go at it with standard for a while.)  I got the temp stabilized around 210.  Sprayed down every 11/2 with the juice.  I'm using a Polder Therm and it hit 180 internal at 7:30am.  (To be honest I was surprised it cooked so fast.  I was expecting it to take at least 10 hours.  That's why I started it so early.)  Pulled it out, sprayed down and poured 1/2 cup apple juice over it, and then FTC.  It sat in cooler until lunch at 1pm.  Sliced up nicely, color, texture and flavor were great.  But disappointed it was tad dry.     :(

Any thoughts on why it might have been a bit dry?  Any suggestions on how to improve my process here.

[Side note:  Why can't you use foil in a BS?  BS handbook says it will damage the BS.  Anyone know why?]

Gizmo

Sully, welcome,