First Timer/Rub Questions

Started by wabbq101, January 01, 2007, 12:26:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wabbq101

So I am doing some 'bonless country style' pork I got from Costco.
Yeah, I know, should have gone to my local butcher, but the price was right, and it is the first time.
For the rub I used the following:

1/3c Smoked parprika
3T dry mustard
2 T onion powder
2T garlic powder
2T Basil
1T cayenne
1T Black Pepper
1/2T Ancho powder
1/2T Chipotle powder
3T Brown Sugar
1/8T Cumin (shy)
and a bit of this and that.........

I did not use any salt, and rubbed the meat (about 7 lbs) and let sit overnight in the fridge. Brought it out, let it sit out for about 2 hours, and am halfway through my first smoke.

Do I need to use salt?
I would prefer not to, as I watch that sort of thing in my diet.

Thanks  for any suggestions about either the salt, or the rub in general.
Total newbie with the Bradley, but know my way around a kitchen fairly well.
Crossing my fingers, it's noon here finally............. 8)

West Coast Kansan

I try to minimize salt as well for blood pressure...nothing special about salt beyond taste for food your going to cook and then eat today.

Click On Link For Our Time Tested And Proven Recipes and Register at this site for Tuesday Night Chat Room Chat is FUN!

NOW THAT'S A SMOKED OYSTER (and some scallops)

wabbq101

Thanks, I was hoping to hear that.
I probably won't eat anything I smoked today, just FTC then vacuum seal for a fishing trip later this month.

West Coast Kansan

Longer term storage questions requires better advice than I can provide.

Click On Link For Our Time Tested And Proven Recipes and Register at this site for Tuesday Night Chat Room Chat is FUN!

Habanero Smoker