Adding water and heater questions

Started by SmokeRules, August 22, 2004, 04:19:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SmokeRules

<font face="Arial"></font id="Arial"><font size="1"></font id="size1"><font color="black"></font id="black">

I'm new to the Bradley and to smoking. Reading the Bradley instruction manual left me scratching my head. Hope to get some of these questions answered here.

What's the lowest temp at which the the pucks can create smoke? Or maybe I should ask, how long after starting the BS until it can generate smoke?  

How does the heater element work? Can you make the BS preheat faster by red-lining the slider all the way to the right and then backing it down after you get to the desired temp?

Can the internal meat temperature ever get hotter than the smoker temp? In other words, if the BS is set to 180, can the meat being smoked go over 180 or does it hit 180 and just stay there?

Opening the door really increases cook time but most of you recommend rotating the meat and refilling the water bowl after around 4 hours. What's the downside of just leaving everything be and not touching it until the food is cooked?

Oldman

<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote">What's the lowest temp at which the the pucks can create smoke?<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></blockquote id="quote"></font id="quote">

The box temp has no bearing on the smoke generator. The smoke generator "burns" the pucks. While it does add some heat to the box it is not the source for the heat.

<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote">Or maybe I should ask, how long after starting the BS until it can generate smoke?
<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></blockquote id="quote"></font id="quote">