BS: Newbie Buyer: Stainless v. original

Started by Mawgie, August 28, 2004, 02:40:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mawgie

Folks -

I am a newbie smoker buyer, and an avid deer and duck hunter and outdoor cooker here in Upstate NY, ready to avoid making the mistake of buying a Brinkmann style smoker as my first rig.  My question is, if you were were me, would you buy the original Bradley, or a stainless steel Bradley at $190-$200 more $$?  Seems to me that everyone would want the stainless steel, but when it comes to the extra $200 from the wallet, an original that is well cared for will perform just as well,, and that extra $200 will buy a whole lot of smoke chips.  Am I missing any performance features or enhancements that would make the Stainless model worth the extra $$, beyond looks?

Thanks-Mawgie

nsxbill

I like the stainless one because it won't rust, and matches my stainless BBQ which are both outside under enclosed covered porch.  It is just a matter of which one you like.  They all work the same.  Cleanup probably more demanding on the stainless just because everything shows.  

One of our list members, Chez Bubba//www.chezbubba.com has a great deal on everything you need to get your started.  Lots of good feedback from his customers here, and he will take good care of getting it to you pronto.

Bill
There is room on earth for all God's creatures....right on my plate next to the mashed potatoes.

whitetailfan

If you look around this topic, there are some good discussions on the differences.  Basically it is only the cosmetics, and like Bill said, the weather resistance of stainless steel.

My biggest concern is that you are paying $200 more for SS[?][?][?]
Unless that is the special Ducks Unlimited special edition (which by the way is simply a SS Bradley with a pretty duck on the front) then you are being taken.  No matter where I have seen them, no matter what the base price, a SS smoker is priced at $100 over the black original.