Digital Smoker Built in Thermometer

Started by FDNY661, February 26, 2007, 05:01:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

FDNY661

I'm new to smoking and I have being reading the forums. It seems to me that
Temperature 200 to 220 degrees is very important!

My Question

Has any body install a round dial smoker's thermometer in the door of a digital smoker?
I noticed that the original smoker has one!

Any Thoughts?

Thanks

headgames

MY thought ..........  skip the dial ...............  buy a digital with a probe ..( 20-25 bucks )........   send  the cable in through the vent ......#1 . very accurate ( some dials heve been off by 30 degrees)

#2.  It keeps the vent always open just enough for most smokings

#3  You got to kill it before you can grill it .  ;D  lol
If ya go home hungry ........ You were at the wrong House!!

Wildcat

Welcome to the forum FDNY661.  Headgames is right on.  Maverick has two probes, one for the box temp and one for the internal meat temp and it is very acurate.  I have the original BS in the stainless version and the dial gauge is way off. ;)
Life is short. Smile while you still have teeth.

CLICK HERE for Recipe Site:  http://www.susanminor.org/

FDNY661

Thanks for the info on the in-door thermometer. I heard that the maverick smoker thermometer
shorts out after a few uses! 

Thanks

Silverlock

Quote from: Wildcat on February 26, 2007, 12:35:37 PM
Welcome to the forum FDNY661.  Headgames is right on.  Maverick has two probes, one for the box temp and one for the internal meat temp and it is very acurate.  I have the original BS in the stainless version and the dial gauge is way off. ;)

My "chunk smoker" has an analog thermometer that's accurate to within a couple of degrees. I'll check the name on it when I get home.

Habanero Smoker

Quote from: FDNY661 on February 26, 2007, 01:14:39 PM
Thanks for the info on the in-door thermometer. I heard that the maverick smoker thermometer
shorts out after a few uses! 

Thanks

FDNY661;