smoked chops

Started by june70, September 11, 2004, 10:29:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

june70

I am new at the BSforum and would like to find a process for smoked chops.  I would like some advice on a curing recipe and smoking cold vs. hot?  I have searched the forum and have not found any solid advice.  Please help[?][?]

nsxbill

Hello June,

I cold smoked my last loin chops for only an hour then finished up on the grill.  I liked them, but wife prefers no smoke on grilled chops.  I don't believe I have seen anyone cold smoking them as a stand alone process....but I have only been around the smoker for a couple of months.

Bill
There is room on earth for all God's creatures....right on my plate next to the mashed potatoes.

jaeger

Welcome Lynn,
 If I was going to smoke porkloin or chops I would start out with a premixed cure, like a brown sugar type, and mix and cure according to directions included with the cure. By curing the product you will probably want to cook/smoke it until it is fully cooked. At this point you are ready to serve or fully cool the product and after that slice or saw into portions. Now you have a fully cooked product that is ready for reheating on your grill or back in the Bradley. There are some interesting experiences with cures on some of the past threads here. There is also a fairly recent picture of a very cool set up, detaching the smoke generator and using a dryer hose to achieve a cold smoke.
If you have any questions let us know.[:)][8D][:)]
Doug

MallardWacker

June,

Here is a thread that has some help for what you are looking for.
http://bradleysmoker.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=160
I am sure <font color="blue">White</font id="blue"> will see this post and respond, it seems he has done a few.

SmokeOn,

mski
Perryville, Arkansas
Wooo-Pig-Soooie

If a man says he knows anything at all, he knows nothing what he aught to know.  But...

SmokeOn,

Mike
Perryville, Arkansas