Clams

Started by Welsh Wizard, May 15, 2007, 05:52:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Welsh Wizard

Hi one and all - a newbie here who uses his Bradley in the main for smoked salmon and bacon, although during the game season I do smoke pigeon, pheasant and mallard breasts. Anyway to the question - has anyone smoked clams? I have been given a load of them and would very much like to try giving them a go. Any advice will bemore than welcome.

Thanks, Welsh Wizard

manxman

Are they cooked / shelled or uncooked / still in the shell??

There has been some discussion recently about doing mussels in the BS recently and I imagine the principle would be the same. There has also been at least one post regarding clams:

http://forum.bradleysmoker.com/index.php?topic=5153.0

http://forum.bradleysmoker.com/index.php?topic=5122.0

Post back with how you get on if you give it a go with your BS, I have access to wild mussels and fancy trying some of them later in the summer. Technique will be similar I would imagine?

Manxman

Wildcat

Welcome to the forum!  I have not smoked clams but love the commercial smoked ones.  Let us know what you do and how they turn out.  May give it a go one day.
Life is short. Smile while you still have teeth.

CLICK HERE for Recipe Site:  http://www.susanminor.org/

Welsh Wizard

Thanks both for the links / advice.

I have smoked muscles (where is the spell check) in the BS before now and wondered if it were the same principal i.e. shell opens with the heat?

What I have decided to do is to shuck half and brine and leave half in their shell.

Will let you know how I get on.

Cheers WW

manxman

QuoteWill let you know how I get on.

Yes, please do. Also could you post how you did the mussels? How long did you smoke etc? What temps etc?

Thanks,  :)
Manxman

Welsh Wizard

Hi Manxman