Questions before I buy

Started by clembo, June 10, 2007, 05:18:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

clembo

Hi guys,

This forum is great, I just found it yesterday but it has been very helpful. I have been smoking meats for about 8 years with a traditional side box charcol and wood smoker. I think I will buy a Bradley as I don't always have the time to deal with the old method. My questions are -

1. Do you have to cut Baby Back Ribs to fit on the racks or are the racks long enough to hold uncut ribs?

2. Can you fit two Pork Shoulders (8-10 lbs) on a rack?

3. I think I will buy the 6 Rack version although I am a bit hesitant as some have stated that it is harder to monitor temp. Any thoughts? How much meat can you fit in a 4 rack?

4. Do I need Bubba Pucks and exactly why?

Sorry for the lengthy questions, but I love the results that I have learned to achieve with my old smoker and I just want to be sure that the Bradley will be a great new addition to the family. I'll also include a tip to a few newbie smokers that have experienced blackening on their meats - use Turbinado or Sugar in the Raw instead of Brown Sugar for your rub, it has a higher burning temperature and tastes the same.

Thanks in advance.

Smoke_Lover

Hi clembo;

Thanks for the tip on the sugar.  I was curious why so many recipes called for the Turbinado sugar.

I have only had mine for a week so until someone with more experience has a chance to answer your questions, I know one.  I just smoked 4 full racks of spareribs, which I think are about the same length as baby backs.  They fit the width but was tight against the wall.  I have the 6 rack.

I am also a newbie smoker and that is why I went for the BS.  The reviews I read rated it number 1 in the so called LazyQs.

Well I hope this helps some.  I am sure others will post with more info.

Smoke Lover

You don't get to choose how you're going to die. Or when. You can only decide how you're going to live. Now.

Joan Baez

Gizmo