ribs have good flavor but meat is tough

Started by SMOKERDAVE, June 16, 2007, 10:43:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

SMOKERDAVE

Hello everyone I just got my bradley original smoker about a week ago. I have smoked several chickens and porks butts with great results but the ribs turned out really tough. The flavor was good but needed a knife to eat. I used a dry rub and smoked them for 3 hrs at 220. I did not use a mop sauce or spray with apple juice. The ribs remp when done was 160 F. Do I need to spray with apple juice or mop suace to get them to come out tender. Will smoking them longer help also. I am new to smoking and am lovin it. This forum has some great info so keep up the goodposts.

Wildcat

Welcome to the forum.  Did you remove the membrane?  If not, that is part of your problem.  If you want to do the total cook in the BS, then smoke for 2 to 4 hours and then simply let them stay until the meat on the ends tend to pull away from the bone with a gentle twist.  I also recommend spraying with apple juice about every hour after the first 2 hours.  I like to cook at 190 to 210 until done and FTC for 3 hours when I do the entire cook in the BS.  Ribs are difficult to master so do not get discouraged.  Practice makes perfect as they say.
Life is short. Smile while you still have teeth.

CLICK HERE for Recipe Site:  http://www.susanminor.org/

smokin stu

I cook up two racks at a time regularly, normally 200 degrees for five hours, with the first three with smoke.  I used to diamond cut the membranes until recently, when the fine folks on this forum convinced me to peel the membrane off.  I use my own dry rub which is modified from Ted Reader's "Bone Dust" recipe.

I rotate the racks at three hours and spray with apple juice.