Pork Tenderloin

Started by b0n3thug5, June 26, 2007, 06:59:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

b0n3thug5

I am some what new to the board, I have been an avid reader and researcher, just never really posted anything, I have had my BS for three years and I must say it is the best purchase I have ever made.  I am looking to do a Pork Tenderloin this weekend, I am looking for a recipe to use on a tenderloin.  The majority of the meats that I have been doing in the smoker is brisket, pork shoulder, which I use my spices and mustard as a base.  I do not know what would be good for a pork tenderloin if you would soak it in Olive Oil or use a mustard base.  Any assistance from all the smoke masters would be great.

TIA
Big Bry

tsquared

I have used this one with good results.

Smoked Pork Tenderloin with plum-rosemary Marinade
Plum-Cassis Marinade (recipe below)
2-3 Tablespoons of chopped fresh rosemary leaves
apple or orange juice
3 lb pork tenderloin

Marinade
6 fresh plums, pitted and coarsely chopped(I freeze some from our tree every summer just for this recipe)
1/4 cup creme de cassis liqueur (black currant liqueur}
1/3 cup cider vinegar
1/4 cup dry Madeira wine
2 cloves garlic, minced or pressed
1 tsp dry mustard
1 tablespoon dark brown sugar
1/4 tsp freshly grated nutmeg.

1) Boil plums and cassis then reduce heat and simmer for 20 min.
Cool.
2)combine plum mixture with vinegar, wine, garlic, mustard, sugar and nutmeg and puree.

Cooking method
1)Combine marinade and rosemary and marinate pork overnight or for 8 hours.
2)Remove pork, boil marinade to baste with.
3) Use apple juice in the water pan of your smoker, smoke pork with apple or cherry or pecan until internal temp reaches 140 f.
4) Prepare to receive the accolades of your guests. This recipe is the one that convinced me that a smoker should be used for more than just salmon.It's from a cookbook called Marinades by Jim Tarantino. Hope you enjoy if you try it.
Tom

Gizmo