Misc questions

Started by Bob, Carefree AZ, August 17, 2007, 07:43:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bob, Carefree AZ

It took me a while to find out how to work this forum area. Hope this makes it through. This is my first time forum entry.
I've got a 6 rack digital SS smoker. My first project is curing some bacon, and will be smoked in about 7 days. I'll hot smoke it - one (5#) with a maple sugar cure, the other (5#) with bay leaves, pepper and garlic. I'll smoke them seperate in a fruit wood (maple sugar) and a hickory. Any comments appreciated.
General questions - Will this smoker do two turkeys at the same time? Or three? Will it do 3 breasts? I bought some non-stick jerky racks with smaller grates. Wouldn't I use these rather than the SS ones that come with the unit? Less sticking and easier clean up?
I've been smoking for many years. This is my first cold smoker. Living in Arizona deserts I don't know when I'll be able to cold smoke. I plan on doing some curing, brining, sausage and smoking - hot and cold.
Thanks in advance, Bob

Wildcat

Welcome to the forum and the wonderful world of Bradley!  I have not used my Jerky racks yet, but other members on here have indicated that the non-stick coating does not last that long.  I have the original in SS so I can't answer your questions about how much your 6 rack will hold.  Others on here that have one should chime in before long.  Hope your Bacon project (and all others) go well.
Life is short. Smile while you still have teeth.

CLICK HERE for Recipe Site:  http://www.susanminor.org/

Habanero Smoker

Bob;
Welcome to the forum.