YIKES--ribs question!

Started by smokmifugotm, September 02, 2007, 10:02:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

smokmifugotm

Here it goes!  I am one month into owning my obs and still learning.  This is my first attempt at spare ribs.  I preheated my obs to 210 degrees while I got my ribs ready.  I put them in and the smoker and the temp had dropped to 105 degrees in the process.  I thought no biggie, cause it was steadily climbing.  So, I left to hit the gym and when I got back.  YIKES!! :o  The temp of the smoker was at 165 degrees and my internal temp of the meat was at 150 degrees.  I am not sure why my smoker did not make it back up to at least around 190. 

That is the situation.  Here is the question!  Should I worry about the OBS temp as long as I hit the correct internal temp of the meat?  I plan to pull them off and slow cook them at 190 degrees in a pan and foil in the oven for several hours.  If anybody has any advice, let me have it.  I appreciate it in advance!  And if you took the time to read this have a great weekend also! 

Take Care!

Gizmo

Are you using the door thermometer or a remote probe located near the meat?  Temperature varies inside the box.
You didn't mention how many racks of ribs you were doing so it is hard to give you a guess on how fast your recovery from loading will be. 

I always preheat to 260 deg or so and keep the element on high until the box has sufficiently recovered from the loading.  Some of the folks use bricks in the bottom as they will absorb the heat and help with box temp recovery.

I would not worry about the box temp not reading what you were expecting.  With your IT above the safe zone and the extra pan foil tenderizing, they will be safe to eat and very tasty.   :P  :P  :P
Click here for our time proven and tested recipes - http://www.susanminor.org/

smokmifugotm