Help Pulled Pork Question

Started by Turkeyman, September 08, 2007, 06:02:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Turkeyman

Having some pepole over for the packer game on sunday and I am smoking 12.5 lbs of boston butt how long will 12 pounds take about ? I want to have it done by about 9 am so it can ftc for a few hours.

Thanks

Tiny Tim

Well, it depends a lot on your smoker/oven temp.  I did a 4# a few weeks ago that took 23 hours, but I used a very low temp (200 at the level of the meat in the smoker).  I've got a 7+# one that's going into the smoker tonight (late afternoon at least), but I'm shooting to get it done tomorrow afternoon/evening, so I'll be crankin' the heat up a little more.

Infalable

My 6 pounders usually take about 15 hors to 17 hours at 200.

johnchitown

I am new to this but what I have experienced that is as much the piece of meat as it the weight or temperature. This was confirmed by a friend who has been competing in BBQ for years and took a first place in Pork a month ago.

I bought a 2 pack at Sam's and did a test cooking in my new BDS using the smaller of the 2 butts and it took almost 16 hours.

Last night I cooked the much larger piece and it was done in 11 hours.

Go Figure!

Malc

I just did about 17 lbs.  It was a whole shoulder from Sam's splt into two somewhat even sections.  It took roughly 16 hours at about 210.  This is an average, since one took a little longer than the other.  Hope that helps.
Don't forget to allow time for the FTC.

Malc
From the forest itself comes the handle for the axe.

Mr Walleye

Yup! I agree. Mine range from 14 to 20 hours. On average I'd say around 17 hours. I usually alow 4 or 5 hours on top of that for FTC. That way if it takes a little longer it's no big deal. You can use the FTC as a time buffer so you can plan to eat at an approximate time.

Mike

Click On The Smoker For Our Time Tested And Proven Recipes

iceman