Looking for Info on smoking Leg Of Lamb

Started by BBQ Bart, September 20, 2007, 08:01:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

BBQ Bart

Hi everyone,

I'm planning to do an approx. 8 lb  leg of lamb this weekend in my DBS and I've never done one before.

Some questions for the experienced members:

1) Any suggestions for a good lamb rub?
2) What temp should I cook at, 210 perhaps? and what would be approx cook time at that temp?
3) What should I shoot for as far as internal temp to reach doneness?
3) How long to FTC?
4) Any other things I should know?

Many thanks to those your reply
BBQ Bart

Wildcat

Cook to internal temp of 165 F.  This is between medium and well. (160 is medium and 170 is well)

I cook at around 200.

I like apple wood for lamb.

Time varies due to a number of factors.  No need to FTC except as a buffer for time.

I have not used a rub yet.  The legs I have obtained so far are pre-marinated.  I believe it had lemon pepper, rosemary, salt, onion, and possibly some other stuff.
Life is short. Smile while you still have teeth.

CLICK HERE for Recipe Site:  http://www.susanminor.org/

Smokin Hoosier

If you're still looking for Lamb recipes, I've had great luck with this one, and not just because it's a fellow Indiana smoker!

Good Luck!

Smokin Hoosier

Indy

Leg of Lamb (boneless) Success!
« on: August 15, 2005, 05:55:01 am » Quote 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------