NewBe On Board

Started by ApothecaryBard, September 28, 2007, 03:29:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ApothecaryBard

Greetings from Cinti!
I am new to smoking, and just looking for insight on smoking Ribs & Chicken.  I just got my new Stainless smoker and used the Special Blend wood on a 5 lb whole chicken..cooked it for 4 hours at 250.  The results were good, but when is it time to turn off the smoke, or do you?  I usually cook ribs at 225 for 5+ hours using Liquid Smoke in the oven, how long do you guys recommend smoking in the Bradley?

Thanks for any input

Ontrack

Welcome to the forum! As a Bradley newbie myself, and have never smoked a chicken, unfortunately I can't help you there. I have done a couple racks of ribs, the first being dry as dust and the second being delicious. I really don't think I'm qualified to give you any advice, other than to check some of the previous posts. There is a wealth of information on here from many expert smokers. I'm sure you can find what you're looking for and you'll get feedback from the experts, who will be glad to answer any question you may have. Enjoy!

Wildcat

Any more than 4 hours is a waste IMHO.  Meat can only absorb so much of this pure smoke.  Some folks find 2 hours enough.  Depends on taste.  Welcome to the forum.
Life is short. Smile while you still have teeth.

CLICK HERE for Recipe Site:  http://www.susanminor.org/

Mr Walleye

Here is an excellent post by Iceman on ribs:
http://forum.bradleysmoker.com/index.php?topic=4290.0

As far as smoke goes I tend to use about 2 to 2:20 of smoke on my ribs. It's kinda a personal thing as far as how much smoke goes. As WildCat indicated, 4 hours is about the max I use and that would be on a butt. Lots of people continue to run the smoke generator after the smoke is complete to help maintain temps.

Mike

Click On The Smoker For Our Time Tested And Proven Recipes

Consiglieri