First Big Load o' Ribs

Started by ad18, March 30, 2008, 06:24:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ad18

I'm new to this forum, although I have been using my Bradley for a couple of years now with very good success.  I'm in a bit of a self imposed bind right now.  I usually do 2 racks of ribs in my smoker at 220-230 degrees for my family.  I usually smoke for about 2-3 hours, turn off smoke and change water bowl, and continue cooking for another 1-2 hours.  Found that 4-5 hours total was just about right.  Never open the door other than the water change.  I then pull them out of the smoker, tent on a platter with foil for about 20 minutes to let them "rest", carve, and enjoy.  I have never done the FTC method or used foil pans, etc.  I've got a bunch of friends coming this weekend demanding ribs and I'm happily going to oblige.  I'm planning on doing 6-8 racks of ribs and was expecting to increase my cook times to 6-8 hours due to the extra meat.  I'm hesitant to try the FTC/foil tray methods without experimenting on myself first.  Does the extra racks of ribs and extra time sound about right or do ribs not increase the cook time that much.  I got snookered on turkey breasts a while back and had to bail out to higher temps with foil in oven to meet the dinner bell that time.  Lesson learned.  Sound like this is a great forum and hope I can contribute some time.  Thnx in advance.     

Mr Walleye

Hi ad18 and welcome to the forum.

Everybody seems to have a different idea of perfect ribs. Myself, I like them to be fairly tender and come clean off the bone. I usually do wrap in foil or use a tin foil roaster with a shot of apple juice. I usually sauce them on the grill after. With 6 or 8 racks it will take a while to get up to temp. I would allow around 9 hours. If you run short on time you can do what I did below or if you have extra time you can always foil with a shot of AJ and keep them warm in the oven.