Reveo Update...

Started by gscheig, March 23, 2008, 06:45:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

gscheig

Good news - got the new lids from Reveo (with the help of SmokinMoe :D), and got a great seal, no leaks, big "whoosh" when I opened the valve, no comparison to before

Bad news - tonight I made shish kabobs (on the grill).  I put two sirloins worth of cubed meat in the reveo, added some cubed fresh pineapple and a bottle of "Very Teryaki" marinade.  I also hit the steaks with the Jackart knife meat tenderizer a few times before cubing and marinading.  I spun them about 25 minutes in the reveo until they soaked up almost all the marinade.

Made the kabobs with onion, cherry tomatoes, pineapple and peppers... looked good.  However, when I cooked them, the meat turned to goo... absolutely awful - like I had left it in meat tenderizer for a week. 

Since this is my first time to Reveo with vacuum, I'm not sure what went wrong.  The marinade did not list a meat tenderizer as an ingredient.  I know pineapple can break down meat and I reveo'd the meat and pineapple together.  Maybe I should not have used the Jackart knife.

The meat was flavored great from the soak - just not edible from the consistency.  I need meat to be tender (since I have a lap-band), but the consistency of mushy baby food was not good :P

Any veterans have insights on this issue?   Great forum - I am learning a lot!

Greg

Arcs_n_Sparks

gscheig,

Not sure about the meat tenderizer part, but 25 minutes sounds like a long time, especially for meat pieces the size for kabobs.

With my first Reveo experience, I went too long and soaked up all the marinade. That was a mistake. I now start approaching it from the short side and work up my time line.

Mr Walleye

Hi Greg