Newbie/Mawgie: Problems with PID build (case/thermocouple)

Started by Mawgie, July 21, 2008, 06:05:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mawgie

Folks-

Newbie Mawgie here, the same newbie that scored that BSS for $203.  Well, I'm here to tell you, instant karma didn't wait to long to get a piece of me!  Here's the deal:

1- I am a decent woodworker, and so, with all the DIY PID info on this website, I thought, no worries, I got this;
2- bought the parts from Auber, as readily indicated on this website;
3- bought the ABS project box from RadioShack, and didn't like it much;
4- ended up tossing the box, minus much of its hide, 'cause it is so flimsy (no disrespect intended to anyone that uses it);

In other research, I see that Mr Walleye has a dandy PID, made out of leadweighted 4" 45 degree capped PVC.  I'm headed that way.  My questions:

1- I have the standard K Auber thermocouple, and would like a disconnect at the base of the PID (a la MrWalleye), that would allow me to attach either a smoker probe, or a Souse Vide/crockpot probe.  From what I understand, that's tough, because smoker probes are housed in braided steel, and the SousVide probes are skinny, in silicone. 

2- Can you set up a PID with a disconnect that will accept probes for both smoker foods and crockpot foods?

3- Can I modify the probe I have, or do I need to start from scratch?

Please help.
I promised my wife a smoked chicken that I have not delivered.....

Regards=-Mawgie

Arcs_n_Sparks

Quote from: Mawgie on July 21, 2008, 06:05:32 PM
I have the standard K Auber thermocouple, and would like a disconnect at the base of the PID (a la MrWalleye), that would allow me to attach either a smoker probe, or a Souse Vide/crockpot probe.  From what I understand, that's tough, because smoker probes are housed in braided steel, and the SousVide probes are skinny, in silicone. 

Mawgie,