Electricity question

Started by Patience, August 29, 2008, 05:24:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Patience

Hope those skilled in the arts of electrons can help.  Does a 220v oven element need to have a fuse?  I plan on running 220V 4 wire with one leg+neutral that will run the PID, smoke generator and convection fan (w/their own fuses) and just the hot wire will also connect to one terminal of the element.  The other leg will be switched on/off thru the SSR and connect to the other side of the element.  Since these things are pretty cheap, do I really need a fuse between the SSR and element?  What am I risking without one, a blown element?

If so, what size would I get if I were to be running the whole works off a 20amp 220v breaker.  The element will be rated at 2400 watts.

A well used minimum suffices for everything -- Phileas Fogg

beefmann

Paatence,

I am an electrican by trade. I  would fuse both legs into the bradley, controll box at 20 amp, then i would fuse both  legs to the heater at 12 amp before the connection to the  heater on  the  one side and to the ssr on the  other.

if the rest of the unit  is 120 volt i would put the controller and fan on one hot leg andthe neutral, and the smoke generator on the other leg and neutral. this way you  would ballance the load and your  220 volt heater across both hot legs. ground only the metal case of the smoke generator and the metal tower.

this way you  have  ballanced the load across both legs as  much as possable though it wont  be 50 / 50 if you are  smoking and  cooking at the  same  time.

to calculate the current the formula is  wattage devided by voltage gives amps

2400 watts / 240 volts = 10  amps... 10 amp might blow at  some point in time .. be a bit  larger then needed

hope this  helps

beefmann

Patience