Temperature Control

Started by LazyJack, January 03, 2009, 01:10:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

LazyJack

Newbie here, and as the name states, I'm lazy.  Got my BSS from Costco - good price, smoked leftover pork tenderloin (a little too much smoke but good), some rib eyes (cold smoked then grilled - absolutely delicious), and now going for the big lobowski (sp?), pork loin back ribs (otherwise known as baby backs... got those from Costco too). 

Going with the 2+ hour smoke/cook, wrap in foil after 3 hours (cook) with apple juice, then one hour (or so) in foil but not closed - last 1/2 hour with bbq sauce.  All this to say, I'm having some difficulty keeping the temperature at 220F.  Do I really have to go out and check the thing every 30 minutes to make sure it's hovering at 220F?  My wife says LazyJack should have gotten the digital model, but Costco wasn't selling that.  Also, it's fairly cold where I am (WV, about 38F) and was certainly colder when I started.  however, my BSS is located in my garage, window (open) right behind the unit and garage doors open.  Blocks the wind but obviously can't do anything about the cold.

So, any tips from all of you stainless steel owners (besides building a special structure with exhaust fans, etc... remember, I'm very lazy)?

Habanero Smoker

There are temperature control devises that many are using to control their OBS to within +2°F. Do a search on PID, or Raptor Guru, or DigiQII. They are all temperature control devises that you can use with your smoker.

But if you are just interested in doing ribs, butts and briskets, it won't hurt if your temperatures fluctuate +10°F from time to time.

And welcome to the forum.

I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)

car54

Wecome LazyJack,

Here is some info on making your own PID.

[url][http://www.susanminor.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=245/url]

Brad

beefmann