How the Wood burns

Started by Sheriff, January 21, 2004, 09:55:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sheriff

I am like several others, trying to decided which smoker to buy.  I like the Stainless Bradley home unit.  I have two questions.  How does the wood burn in the BS does the arm it set on get hot or does it burn from the heating element in back of the smoker?  Also, is there a problem of having to rotate your food because the burner or element is in the back of the unit?  This is my first time to log on I have read this forum for several days now and it seem like everyone is very helpful.  I won't push my luck with now with further questions. Thanks

Sheriff

Chez Bubba

Dear Mr. Lawman Sir,

The bisquettes don't truly burn, they smolder. Yes, technically, they are on fire, but not in the flaming kind of way. The arm has room for three bisquettes, two of which are "waiting" and the third is on a hotplate. Every 20 minutes a new bisquette will be pushed in, forcing the ashen third one into the water pan.

Rotating your food, in my experience, is not neccessary <b>IF</b> you're cooking for your family and a few guests. If you're going to cook say 2 chickens or 1 pork butt & put it in the middle of the rack in the middle of the smoker, no problem. The heat will pretty much convect evenly. The back may be a slight bit more cooked, but it's not charred versus half cooked.

If you're showin' off & plop 40-50 pounds of meat into the smoker, taking up every bit of rack space, then yes, I would suggest an occasional rotation, both front-to-back & top-to-bottom. What we do to avoid the top to bottom rotation is place the longer cooking items (roasts, butts, chickens) on the bottom racks and the faster cooking items (ribs, sausage, shrimp) on the top racks. I then only do a front-to-back rotation once, halfway through the cooking time of the fastest cooking item.