Snack sticks first attempt

Started by pensrock, January 24, 2009, 12:32:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

pensrock

I made snack sticks today. It's my first time making these. All I can say is they better be good. I did not realize how many you would get out of a five pound batch. Theres got to be 3 dozen sticks, I did buy hi-temp cheese but forgot to put it in.  ;D
I did not get any pics from the smoking but I'll try when they come out of the dehydrator. If I do not forget that also.  ???
Guess I know what to take along with a couple pounds of smoked xsharp cheddar to the Super Bowl party next Sunday.  ;D

NePaSmoKer

pens

you can get hooked on stix real easy  ;D

nepas

Buck36

Pens,

Those sound good! Did you smoke them to temp and then put them in the dehydrator?

I have only used the smoker. I never even thought about using a dehydrator. I gues they would be a lot more like slim jims then. You have given me a new project!

NePaSmoKer

Here is a small vid of dehydrator snack sticks. I am going to do these tomorrow. Kinda interesting.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OD_y0cVvoqA

nepas

pensrock

NEPAS, you make more snack sticks than anyone I know.
I tried that recipe I showed you the other day with a few modifications, I did add the encapsulated citric acid as you suggested.

Buck36,
I smoked them for two hours at 165F, then put into the dehydrator.

pensrock

Well here they are. Look and smell great, I'll wait till they are cool to try one. I counted 38 of them!

FLBentRider

Click on the Ribs for Our Time tested and Proven Recipes!

Original Bradley Smoker with Dual probe PID
2 x Bradley Propane Smokers
MAK 2 Star General
BBQ Evangelist!

NePaSmoKer

Those stix look great pens  ;D

nepas

deb415611

Very nice Pens.   Your superbowl buddies are going to be very happy.

Tenpoint5

Bacon is the Crack Cocaine of the Food World.

Be careful about calling yourself and EXPERT! An ex is a has-been, and a spurt is a drip under pressure!

Mr Walleye