Finally got the OBS

Started by charman03, February 28, 2009, 07:01:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

charman03

After a little researching, not quite as much as some, I went with the OBS.  Picked it up at BPS last night, Jimmy Houston was there giving a seminar lol.  I process a lot of deer so I'll will be trying to smoke my deer bologna.  I also plan to do some baby backs and pulled pork along the way.  Please chime in on any beginners info I may need to know and what supplies I might need.  I'm already going to get the maverick 7 and pucks, wheres the best place to order each?  Eventually down the road I'll prob get a PID, but am going to try without it first.  Can't wait to go put this thing together and get it seasoned, Oh yeah and also build a small shelterfor it.

macattak

Welcome aboard.  I'm not a prolific poster, but I've gained so much insight from this board, I'd never have enjoyed my OBS as much I've I hadn't found it.  I haven't built/bought a PID, added another element, or done any mods actually.  I do plan to modify the front legs to save the faceplate, but the smoker is great out of the box.

The recipe site is such a great resource as well.  You wouldn't believe how many friends and family ask be to make up some butts, fatties, shrimp, meat loaf or whatever they've had in the past.  You're gonna love your OBS!

charman03

what's the reasoning for wanting to modify the front legs?

Mr Walleye

Hi Charman03 and welcome to the forum.

For the recipe site just click on the smoker in the bottom of my post.

Here's a link that describes the front leg mod. Also, someone posted some pictures of the mod but I can't remember who.
http://www.susanminor.org/forums/showpost.php?p=769&postcount=12