Hello from Fenelon Falls, Ont

Started by Crackerssouth, April 04, 2009, 06:50:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Crackerssouth

Hello everyone. I'm brand new to the OBS, having been an avid smoke fanatic using the Chargriller Smoking-Pro for years, yeah, I'm an old guy, so this is a new way of smokin' for me. Nice thing about my first batch of ribs, way more moist, not so dry as with charcoal, my wife really liked them. Other bonus, no messy charcoal to light and dispose of, no grease, no smell, and I actually stayed clean with less work or would that "be with less fun". Time to move into the 21st century and banish the ole Chargriller to the far end of the deck. Looking forward to learning a lot from my fellow smokers. Just a quick hello.
Cheers.

other smokers:
bullet style smoker..... charcoal
converted garbage can... that was actually fun
Smokin-Pro..... charcoal, and converted to use propane also

NePaSmoKer

Welcome to the forum Crackers.

Lots of great folks here with great tips and tricks. There are no dumb questions here either. One thing to remember about your Bradley is to never close your vent off totally, always have it atleast 1/4 way open.

Enjoy your new smokin toy.

nepas

Wildcat

Welcome to the forum and Bradley!  I recommend that you keep a good charcoal/hard wood grill/smoker in your inventory.  The Bradley is perfect for almost everything IMHO.  I have found that for some things like lean steaks (although the Bradley does a great job at cold smoking these for grilling later), a hot grill with chunk wood does a better job.  One of my first hot smokes in the Bradley was a NY Strip.  Great flavor, but almost too tough to chew.  Since then I have cold smoked them, wrapped and refrigerated over night and grilled the next day.  These turn out very well, but I still think the Hard Wood grill/smoker is better for these.
Life is short. Smile while you still have teeth.

CLICK HERE for Recipe Site:  http://www.susanminor.org/

Tenpoint5