Need info before I do buy

Started by razorbackdave, November 13, 2010, 10:35:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

razorbackdave

I'm wanting to buy a Bradley this January and need to know what to buy. Any commits would be greatful. I make sausage and I BBQ. I do BBQ on a trailer BBQ pit but it's really too big and waste of fuel for a little meat. Sausage I will usually do 25-50 pounds of it, (summer, polish) I'll also use it to smoke hams that I've cured myself. any Ideas on which Bradley. Thank you.
WOO! PIG! SOOIE!

KyNola

RBD, if you're going to be doing sausages in a Bradley you want precise temp control.  A lot of the guys here get the Bradley original and order an Auber PID.  The PID is an add-on to the Bradley that maintains cooking temps +/- 1-2 degrees.  The Auber PID can be ordered here www.auberins.com

Some of the expert sausage makers will be along and give you better advice than me.

KyNola

punchlock

Hello razorbackdave  and welcome to the forum. I am fairly new to smoking and have not had my Bradley for that long. I own a Bradley digital and I am quite happy with the results. If I had it to do again I would likely purchase the Bradley original and put the extra money saved into a PID. I think that pairing is your best bang for your buck. Either way I am sure you will be happy.

Wildcat

I agree 100 percent. Original with a PID.
Life is short. Smile while you still have teeth.

CLICK HERE for Recipe Site:  http://www.susanminor.org/

goblism

I think the 6 rack would probably be more appropriate if you want to do larger loads of meat.  I can fit only 10-12lbs of snack sticks in my house and 25lbs of summer sausage.

Sailor