Anyone else homebrew?

Started by Sorce, May 14, 2010, 02:48:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sorce

Just wondering if anyone has this hobby to go along with their smoking hobby (or obsession  ;D). The seem like they would fit together nicely. My wife and I have been making wine for about 3 years now. We started making it because we were interested and gave away the first batch as Christmas presents for family. That first one came from a boxed kit. Since then we've expanded out to different things, actually made all the wine for our wedding almost a year ago. Most recently we've been making mead. We like its unique taste and it's not as easy to buy, not to mention honey is pretty easy to get your hands on.

I want to get into beer and may try that experiment before too long. I'm going to try and save up for a kegerator first so I don't have to bottle it all. My wife doesn't know about the kegerator part so I gotta figure out a way to convince her that would be a good purchase.

Any way just wondering if anyone else is into making their own adult beverages around here.

BuyLowSellHigh

It was a regular weekend activity for wife and me until we had kids, then not enough time.  I still have my "brewery" - all  stainless, 3-tier - the mills, my chest freezer turned fermentation locker, and all my fermenters.  All we did was all-grain brewing in half-barrel batches ( ~ 15 gal finished).  It took all day, like 12-14 hours, from start of grinding grains to in the fermenters and pitched.  We got pretty decent at it, took some ribbons both at regional and national competitions.  When we get some time back I suspect we'll be back to brewing again.
I like animals, they taste good!

Visit the Recipe site here

ArnieM

I've not done it myself.  I'm not really into beer but do enjoy a good ale from time to time.