Long time smoker first time Bradley owner

Started by DaveT261, December 06, 2012, 10:37:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DaveT261

First of all I'd like to introduce myself, my name is Dave.  I've been using a smoker for a long time but this is my first time owning a Bradley smoker.  After a while lurking here the Bradley has me a bit scared, seems like quite a few mods and quite a bit of dollars are needed to make it work properly, that was the last thing I needed to hear about them.  I sure was hoping to cut down on labor time over a smoker, not that I dont enjoy it but it would be nice to be able to prepare the meat, put it in, turn it on and forget about it until its done (I realize there is no such thing as "the forget about it" theory,especially on 24 hour smokes).  I hope someone can change my first impression before I even get my initial  seasoning done to it. 

I bought a 6 rack digital.

beefmann

welcome aboard Dave,

Bradley smokers are pretty good as a stand alone,  several people have made mods , myself included, Also am a proud owner of an original Bradly with mods  which have made me  lazy when it comes to smoking / cooking.. do not let the mods scare you away it is a  personal preference all bradleys do the job well as a stand along unit

With just the 500 watt element you can have cook times between 20 and 28 hours depending on load. typical smoke is less then 4 hours. If you  need to cook faster you  can always move the meat to your regular oven to finish

the digital bradley comes close to set it and forget it as you  can get, unless Bradley has changed there box timer it has a 10 hour cook time on it ( i may get corrected on this issue  as i do not own a digital )

Grouperman941

Dave,

The only mod I've done is stick a brick in the bottom to hold heat. I crank out all kinds of stuff.

Try it. You'll like it.

I just spent $12 K on this Honda Accord! Why can't it tow my boat?!?

Consooger