Wild boar hind quarter "cut" hog

Started by SamuelG, December 31, 2010, 10:20:14 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

SamuelG

I need some suggestions.

I just received this as a gift.  I had given my wife's coworker some of my cured smoked meats to try and he gave me this in return.  What a treat.  It weighed in at 13lbs and is frozen rock solid.  He has a special game freezer.

He explained that the  boar had no "cojones" when it was shot by him because they were removed to make it a better "cut"  hog.  I'm new to this so pardon my ignorance.

My initial plan is to dry cure, smoke and hang it to dry.  In "charcuterie" there is a recipe for BLACKSTRAP MOLASSES COUNTRY HAM, which seems a good start.   

I would like to get some input and ideas from everyone here, as I would like for it to turn out as good as possible and give some back to the guy.

Thanks. 
SamuelG

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
SamuelG

classicrockgriller

We trap and "Cut" our hogs (Boars).

It keeps them from developing a thick shield which will

make a Boar ......... not good Eats.

I have a hind quarter about that same size that I was thinking of brining (Cure)

and just smokin' it like some of the Hamzilla's that got smoked this year. Now I

think I will wait and see what developes with this Thread.

Habanero Smoker