First time for GB Jerky... Everything sound OK here?

Started by Mani, October 05, 2011, 04:05:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mani

Morning all,

Here is my plan of attack tomorrow.  As this is my first time, any pointers would be welcome.

OK,  I am going to trim some Brisket of any visible fat, grind twice on a course, then fine dye (I have a kitchenaid attachment for grinding).

In the meantime, make a conventional(ish) Teriyaki sauce;  Soy, Mirin, Sake,  Palm sugar (As I prefer the flavour to granulated or brown sugar) add a bit of Garlic and onion powder, maybe some white pepper and Cure #1.

Mix in the sauce with the ground beef in the mixer at A ratio of one cup of sauce per kilo of Ground Beef (A while since I've done imperial, but approx 1/2 cup per 1.1lb)

Leave overnight, pop in the Jerky gun, smoke in the bradley for one hour of apple (Without the heating element on) then pop in the Dehydrator.

If the esteemed experts suggest any ammendments, all suggestions are welcome.

classicrockgriller

Assuming you use the right ratio of cure and you like the mixture of spices you are using

then all sounds good to me, but I'm not a jerky expert.

Leaving the mixture over night to sit in the fridge will make it stiff and hard to shoot out

of a jerky gun so you may have to add back a little water to loosen the meat mixture up.

Good Luck and take pictures.

KyNola

CRG is dead on about the mix stiffening up.  If you're putting it in the frig so the Cure can begin to work, there is no need.  Cure starts to work immediately even if you shoot the jerky immediately.  Also, there is no reason not to have the tower element running.  I would have heat in the tower running at around 140F.  It is going to at least help a little in beginning the drying process.

Have fun and let us know how it goes.

Mani

Classicrockgriller