Is it safe to eat?

Started by KevinG, September 28, 2009, 05:45:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

KevinG

OK, I'm a newbie to smoke cooking and need help with some questions. Here's the scenario:
I have the Bradley Digital 6 rack smoker.
I got a recipe from this website for Country Chicken, it goes as follows:
2 to 3 lb chicken
Marinade:             
1 tsp salt
2c apple vinegar               1 Tbsp seasoning mix
1c salad oil                      1Tbsp garlic powder
1 tsp white pepper            1 egg
Apple bisquits for smoker

It says marinade the chicken overnight (which I did) and to preheat the smoker with smoke at 250 F, then cook for 2 to 3 hours.

At 6:30 P.M. outside temp of 96.3 F, 4% humidity, 27.58 in-Hg, and a calm (no) wind.
I preheated at 250 F and set the smoke time for 1 hr 40 min and the oven time for 3 hours. I put the chicken in the middle rack with the vent 1/2 open, and the pan 1/2 full of water. I checked it 1/2 hour after the smoke finished. The color looked great, the smell delicious, but the internal temperature of the chicken did not even reach 140 F. The USDA says you must cook chicken to 185 F, so I started to panic and put the chicken in my home oven at 400 and cooked until the internal temperature got to 185 F. 

Now for the questions:

1) I am concerned because the recipe didn't say to brine or to use any cure, so should I have assumed it needed a brine/cure and done that first?

2) Would it have been safe to eat even though the internal temp never got to 185 F (less than 140 F) after 2 hours of cooking and it didn't get any brine or cure, and if so what internal temperature is OK to eat it at?

3) Is it safe to eat now, or did it sit too long before I got it to the correct internal temperature?

4) Should I have used a different rack position or vent opening?

5) Should I have cooked the chicken in the oven first to an internal temperature of 185 F, and then smoked it?

Thanks for your help.

Kevin