Collagen Casings?

Started by Bigbirdoffroad, May 25, 2011, 10:29:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bigbirdoffroad

Just a couple quick questions. Should I soak my collagen casings even tho the package says "No soaking necessary"? And,  How well do collagen cases do with smoke penetration?
I'm not the smartest peanut in the turd!

devo

I have never soaked mine and they do very well with smoke penetration.

NePaSmoKer

You can if you like. I have with great results

Sent from my HTC Liberty using Tapatalk

Bigbirdoffroad

Quote from: devo on May 25, 2011, 10:32:01 AM
I have never soaked mine and they do very well with smoke penetration.
So they can go straight into the smoker without the "Drying" time?

devo

Well i'm no expert on this but this is what I have done. After stuffing let sit in fridge over night. I than take them out and let sit to room temp. I don't know how much difference you will notice if you don't.

Nepa
When you say you have great results can you expand on that one? What would be the difference? Softer casings? Inquiring minds want to know.  :)

pikeman_95

I have stuffed and headed for the smoker more times than not. I also have held it in the fridge for the next day smoke. Remember to bring the sausage to room temperature and allow dry time before loading on the smoke. Warm dry sausage smokes very well. Cold wet sausage will just condense the undesirable things out of the smoke.
Kirby

Bigbirdoffroad

Going right to the smoker from the stuffer, so you let your meat cure before you stuff it?

devo

Nepa & Pickman_95 have made more saugage than I could eat in a life time so I'm sure they will set you straight on this but what I have been doing and this is my thinking on it, I stuff then I leave in the fridge over night so the cure has time to work. Having the room in the fridge is a consideration for sure.

NePaSmoKer

One thing to remember about cure.