Short time reader, first time poster

Started by BIGRAM, June 19, 2014, 04:36:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BIGRAM

[img][img]   Where there is an enthusiast, there is a forum; this one I am very thankful for. I had been eye-balling a Bradley for a couple years and finally got me a four rack.
   I got it Rollin' as I type for the third time loaded with a Boston butt. First round was two butts that I pulled early; they where done but not fall apart done, approx 14 hrs. So this time I am at 16 1/2 hrs and getting ready to go check shortly.
    So far I have had no issues with smoker operation. Everything is working fine and the bisquettes are burning completely. You do have me worried about temperature as right now I only have the Bradley meat thermo. But I do have a Maverick on the way!!
     I can already see that I will gain a lot of knowledge learning from you veterans and it is well appreciated.

tailfeathers

Welcome to the forums from South Dakota. The best way to check to see if your butts are ready to come off the smoker is to insert a fork and twist. If it turns easily, off they come. If it resists, keep cookin! The fork test never lies! I've had butts pass at 180 and others were close to 200. I like to FTC for a couple hours before I shred my pulled pork as well. Wrap meat in a couple layers of foil, then an old towel, then into the smallest available cooler that will hold it. Add a couple layers of newspaper before closing the cooler. You can easily hold a large butt or a brisket for 4 hours using this method and it will still be to hot to handle with bare hands when you unwrap it. Welcome aboard and oh by the way, we like pictures!!
Where there's smoke, there's HAPPINESS!!!

BIGRAM