Hello from Southwest Virginia!

Started by Hoss, January 05, 2010, 02:10:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hoss

Hi everyone!

I am originally from south Georgia, recently moved to Virginia.  I am new to the concept of "smoking" meat, although I can do some mean grilling.  A co-worker turned me towards the Bradley Smoker, and according to the tracker, it will be here tomorrow!  I will definately be asking a lot of questions as I learn to use this thing.  I have also been informed by the little misses that the first thing I will be smoking is a whole chicken.  Any tips would be appreciated.  I will try to post some pics so you an see how my first experience went :).
Life is not like a box of chocolates.  It's more like a jar of jalapenos - What you do Today might really burn your ass tomorrow.

MPTubbs

Welcome Hoss!

Inject it, rub it, smoke it and then finish up in the oven for a crisp skin.

IT of 165* should work.
If your so cool....where's your Tattoo.

Tiny Tim

Welcome Hoss.  Toss the chicken in a brine of some kind (I usually use water, kosher salt, and Brown Sugar, but others have a more thought out recipe) for a few hours before smokin' it.  Would only apply maybe an hour to an hour and a half of smoke, but it'll probably take a good 2+ hours of heat to get the bird done.  Some like to grill or finish in the oven to get the skin crisper, but sometimes I like to chew skin (yeah, I'm a little wierd).

OU812

KEEP THE VENT WIDE OPEN the whole time the bird is in the smoker.

Poultry has allot of moisture in the skin and will cause moisture to build up in the smoker.

Chicken is a good choice for a first smoke.

I like to inject chicken with a blend of stuff I make up but to start off you might want to get your self some Creole Butter injectable seasoning from the store.

Hoss