Cold Smoking with relative humidity

Started by smoker lar, March 24, 2010, 03:23:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

smoker lar

Hi All, I'm a newbie to this forum and loving every bit of information I have seen so far. I got a question. I'm trying to built a cold smoker along with my electric masterbuilt smoker(temp. starts at 100-275). I build a seperate box(smoke generator) and added a smoke daddy to it. I added a 3" hose that runs from the side of the smoker down to a 3" hole in the smoke generator. This gives me all the smoke I need. For my heat, I added a small electric hot plate in the bottom of the smoker so I can regular my heat from 60-90 degrees.  That also works well. Heres my problem, I've read so much that you have to maintain a relative humidity of 75-85% to get good summer sausage. So I went and bought a small humidifier and a temp/humidity gauge. I filled the tank with water and placed it in the smoker.Before I started the humidifier I checked the humidity on the gauge and it was at 34%. I set my hot plate to 75 degrees and started the humidifier just to see if I could get it up to 75-85%. Keep in mind,the temperature outside is between 45-55 degrees right now. Anyway, I let the unit run for an hour and went an checked the gauge for humidity, it didn't move 2%. I opened the smoker door and the steam boiled out  so I know there was enough humidity to make a difference. I know my gauge is correct because I checked it with another one at the same time. Can anybody tell me what I'm might do different so I can get the humidity to rise. Any and all comments are appreciated. Thank you. :'(   

smokeNcanuck

Sorry, I don't have any experience with cold smoking. ??? Someone should be along to give some advise.
There are a BUNCH of really smart people lurking around this forum.
All I can tell you is Welcome to the forum!!

sNc
Either Way....I'm Smoke'N It

classicrockgriller

Welcome to the Forum.