Temperature probes

Started by BudMeister, July 23, 2011, 10:08:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

BudMeister

This may cause some eyes to roll back, but hey... I'm new to this.  Anyhow, I bought a Maverick 732 dual probe wireless thermometer from "World's Largest BBQ Store"  (bbqs.com) and am about to smoke my first 'project', a pork tenderloin. 

My question is this:  Where is the best place to have the probe wires exit the cabinet?  I can't find anything within these forums that say.  I also like the idea of an aluminum water pan instead of the bowl that needs changing all the time.  I would think the temp could drop considerably when the door is opened to change the water.

Thanx

mikecorn.1

I drop my temp probes from the top. Today I'm making some ribs and I fed it between the door and the cabinet on the hinged side. Seems to work also.
Mike

muebe

I drop them down the vent ;D
Natural Gas 4 burner stainless RED with auto-clean
2 TBEs(1 natural gas & 1 LP gas)
OBS(Auberins dual probe PID, 900w finned element & convection fan mods)
2011 Memphis Select Pellet Smoker
BBQ Grillware vertical smoker(oven thermostat installed & converted to natural gas)

BudMeister

Ah, come on!  Down the vent??  I must be functionally illiterate.  That's too easy!  Sheeeesh..................

muebe

Quote from: BudMeister on July 23, 2011, 11:15:21 AM

Ah, come on!  Down the vent??  I must be functionally illiterate.  That's too easy!  Sheeeesh..................

Just remember K.I.S.S. and you will be fine ;D
Natural Gas 4 burner stainless RED with auto-clean
2 TBEs(1 natural gas & 1 LP gas)
OBS(Auberins dual probe PID, 900w finned element & convection fan mods)
2011 Memphis Select Pellet Smoker
BBQ Grillware vertical smoker(oven thermostat installed & converted to natural gas)

ghost9mm

YUP!!! Down the vent, now wasn't that easy...that's where my is right now, working (playing) on some beef sticks..
Digital Bradley Smoker with Dual probe PID
The Big Easy with Srg grill