Newbie question regarding 'over curing' if that's even possible?

Started by SwedishMike, November 16, 2011, 03:15:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

SwedishMike

Hi there,

I'm new to the entire smoker world so I'm currently a bit confused over some concepts etc. Thankfully I'm not too proud to ask, silly at times I'm sure, questions.  ;D

One of the projects on my list is the maple cured bacon recipe I found here: http://www.susanminor.org/forums/showthread.php?542-Maple-Cured-Bacon

What I'm wondering over is the curing time. Since I work full time I would normally only be able to do the actual smoking on weekends.

I would start the curing process on say Saturday week one and hope that the curing process would take the seven days it states as the upper limit in the recipe. That way I could smoke on Saturday week two.

However - what if it takes just 5 days - would it harm the process to cure it for another two days?

Sorry if this is a weird question and I hope I've made my question fairly clear.

Thanks in advance for any replies.

Cheers, Mike

Mr Walleye

Hi Mike and welcome to the forum.

The only stupid questions are the ones that don't get asked.  ;)

I'm in a similar situation working all week. I mainly make Canadian Bacon or as we Canadians call it Back Bacon. I usually get it started curing on a Friday night and let it go until the following Friday before rinsing and allowing it to dry in the fridge over night. I've even let them go 10 days in the cure before with no problems. When I pull them from the cure, I rinse them, then soak them in cold water for 30 minutes, change the water and soak for another 30 minutes. The reason for the double soak time is it removes some of the saltiness and for my taste buds this is the way I prefer it.