Newbie needs help with decision

Started by pokermeister, March 06, 2012, 01:32:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

pokermeister

I am going to purchase a Bradley Smoker, but need some info first. Should I purchase the digital, or the original 4 rack Black smoker? What are Bubba pucks? Do I need a PID? Will the digital smoker shut off when desired internal meat temperature is met? What flavor pucks should I start with (only 3)? I am a fairly experienced cook with about 15 meat rubs in my cabinet right now, and I grill a couple of days per week. Any advice would be greatly appreciated before my purchase.
Life is short, eat the dessert first!

mikecorn.1

Black original with PID. No the digital will not shut down by itself when IT reached. It will with a PID hooked up to it along with the original black smoker.
Bubba pucks push the last bisquette off and save any remaining pucks on burner from partial burn. Therefore saving pucks.
Wood-  buy different ones and see what you like.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Mike

beefmann

buy the 4 rack
buy the pid from auber inst
buy a maverick et 732 thermometer
buy bubba puck savers ( puck pushing  disks )
be prepared for  longer cooking  times, lower temps means slower cooking  times means more tender.

keep to your favorite rubs and try different briquettes of wood to find your favorite

as for internal temps it depends on what you  are cooking and what you  want to  use it  for

pulled pork, pulled beef, brisket are at 195 to 210, other  cuts of meat  like tri tip, beef roasts between 135 and 155 depending on taste, pork tender loin  160 165 ,,, etc

ccardinal