Bitter taste

Started by brucep, August 06, 2013, 12:03:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

brucep

I'm new to smoking and am trying my second batch of spring salmon today. The first batch had a very bitter taste I smoked it according to the Bradley timing in the manual but I am thinking this taste was caused by too much smoke. Can anyone tell me how long to leave the smoke on? Do you leave it on the entire time you have  the fish in the smoker or do you shut the smoke off after a certain time and just leave the heat on?

Saber 4

Welcome to the forum, the fish experts will be along shortly to help you out. It would help to know what temp you smoked at, what wood, was your vent open or closed (should never be fully closed) and anything else you can think of that you did so they can give you a better answer.

rveal23

Hey Brucep, sorry that your first run of Salmon was not the best, however the more you smoke the better you get and the more you eat..  ;D

However Kummok has a thread about salmon which everyone uses as a guide. It gives great information. Check it out and we hope that it can help.

Click on Me or the Pic

* DBS w/ 900watt Mod
* Webber Kettle Grill
* Hybrid Grill

tskeeter