HELP! work lunch @12pm . 6lb BUTT . needs to be ready by 6am! Bonus..my 1st butt

Started by AUgrunt, July 01, 2010, 12:32:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

AUgrunt

I have a 6lb butt that is for a lunch tomorrow at work! I have a Bradley digital 4-rack. How can I have it ready by 6am ?? I have rub , injectors..etc. I need cooking tips. Should I smoke for 5-6 hrs. and put in kitchen oven? Its also my 1st attempt at a butt in it. Talk about pressure!?!
I am a soldier, I fight where I am told, and I win where I fight. 
- General George Patton Jr

FLBentRider

W E L C O M E  to the Forum AUgrunt!

I would start NOW.

I would apply 4-6 hours of smoke @225F and continue to cook at 225F until and IT of 190F, or 6AM whichever comes first. If you are more comfortable putting it in the oven after the smoke is done, go for it.

Then wrap in two layers of Heavy duty foil, wrap in a old bath towel, and into a cooler (no ice)

That should keep it nice and warm on your way to work. pull it out about 1130, pull and serve.

Click on the Ribs for Our Time tested and Proven Recipes!

Original Bradley Smoker with Dual probe PID
2 x Bradley Propane Smokers
MAK 2 Star General
BBQ Evangelist!

AUgrunt

I plan to be at my house at 430pm and its 1st thing I'm starting! I'm against this turbo-test method!! But It'll be a learning experience right??? Damn I.T guy is bring chips. what a wus!!

AUgrunt

BTW- I love this forum!!!
If I go in the oven after 4 hrs of smoke, should I wrap in foil or put in a pan and make a foil tent for it?  w/ apple juice  in pan?

FLBentRider

Quote from: AUgrunt on July 01, 2010, 12:55:20 PM
BTW- I love this forum!!!
If I go in the oven after 4 hrs of smoke, should I wrap in foil or put in a pan and make a foil tent for it?  w/ apple juice  in pan?

When I do them in the oven I put them in a roasting pan.

You can foil if you like.

MAK 2 Star General
BBQ Evangelist!

classicrockgriller