Pork Loin and Baby Backs at same time?

Started by kfin, June 17, 2009, 07:13:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kfin

I am pretty new to my bradley smoker, this site has made my first 4 baby back smokes a great success. I usually smoke 4 racks of baby backs at a time for 4 or 4 1/2 hours at 200 and then put in the oven at 200 for 3-4 hours. They have been great. For Father's Day we are going to smoke ribs and a pork loin.

The loin weighs 5.3 pounds. If I put 3 racks of baby backs on 3 of the bradley racks and the pork loin on the 4th rack....will this work? Will the pork loin be finished way before the ribs? If so, can I just FTC the pork until the ribs are finished? Or should I smoke the ribs first and while they are in the oven will there be time to smoke the pork loin and have it ready? If I smoke them at the same time does it matter what rack is where? (I usually rotate my ribs about half way through the smoke.)

Tooooo many questions. ??? What advice do you multiple meat smokers have for me? LOL

Thanks,
Keith

drano

kfin,
Welcome to Bradley world!   Glad to hear all is going well.
First, I'd let your experience help you with this one.  The more smokes you have under your belt, the better you'll be able to judge how to do new smokes.
First, I'd put the ribs above the loin to let any juices baste the loin.  But rotating all would also be a good idea. 
I've never done a loin, so I don't know how they cook for time.  But I do ~4 lb butt roasts and I bring them to 190 deg and it takes about 7 hours. 
Best advice--experiment when the event isn't critical.  Then take that experience to make a great meal for an important event.
get smokin
drano

Habanero Smoker

Hi keith;

Welcome to the forum.

Placement would depend on whether or not you want the drippings from the ribs to alter the taste of the pork loin.