Temp. Accuracy?

Started by DjSaneR, August 27, 2009, 12:15:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DjSaneR

I'm almost ready to purchase the 6 rack digital smoker but have a question about the temperature control.  How accurate is this unit at maintaining a target temperature? 

I ask this because I'm very new to the smoking world and have only smoked several racks and chickens with my cousin's 4 rack digital.  It seems like everything cooked faster than what I've been researching.  Example: Beef ribs - I was reading that it would take between 5-6 hours @225°F for them to complete, http://www.bbq-fyi.com/beef-ribs-recipe.html (Source from which I obtained the information), however, my ribs were almost OVER cooked after 4 hours, not to mention we cooked @ 220°F instead of 225°F since the Bradley temperature control can only be adjusted in increments of 10°F.

Has anyone ever used a temperature probe to check the accuracy?  Where would you place the probe for the best temp. reading?

The smoker was in a shade on his deck. Little to no wind and it was about 80-85 degrees.  Don't know if that makes a difference but I figure I'd throw that out there.

Thanks,
Matt

Bradley 6 Rack Digital
Weber Genesis S320
Weber Performer

Hopefull Romantic

Hi there DjSaneR and welcome to the forum,

some more experienced folks will be coming soon to guide you through the temp control.

I have the BDS 6 rack as well as the ET 73 and I have noticed some difference between the temp readout on the Bradley smoke generator and the ET 73 probe. I usually place the probe below my first or second rack. Most readings I have done tend to agree that the prob readout is more accurate than that of the smoke generator. Reason being that the sensor between the generator and the tower measures the temp of the tower's back side which is metal and reach higher temps than those in the middle of the smoker. One of the reasons I ordered the PID.