• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Curing and aging beef?

Started by Toker, February 23, 2010, 07:29:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Toker

Hi curing experts, I'm relatively new in the curing process other than bacon. Now I'm facing a new dilemma; i have a brisket bought yesterday in the fridge for wet aging but after the 4 weeks aging time I'm planing to cure it to become a pastrami but would the curing process void the wet aging process? I'M i wasting my time?

Also, i usually cure my brisket for 7 days (that's what i did the other the 1st time i did) but with the 4 weeks of wet aging + the 7 days of curing it makes 5 weeks, is it safe to keep a brisket that long into the fridge uncooked? O f course i will be vacseal all this time but...?

Thx.

Gizmo

I  have not tried wet aging.  I would be afraid that the meat would go bad as you don't know how long it sat in the fridge at the market before you buy it.  It the meat is still good going into the curing process, the curing process should prevent any problems from occurring after that point.
Click here for our time proven and tested recipes - http://www.susanminor.org/

Toker

OK but wet aging is supposed to be use for softening the meat and curing it get it firm so would the curing void the wet aging process according you?

I always (or most of the time) know how old is my meat with this butcher i can trust him.

Gizmo

Good question.
I would think the cure would firm up the meat.  The wet aging may still provide additional flavor but not sure if the combo would give you the results you are looking for.  Could still try it.
Click here for our time proven and tested recipes - http://www.susanminor.org/

Habanero Smoker

What cut of the brisket are you using? Is it the whole brisket, point of flat?

How thick is it at the thickest area?

What curing method are you using; wet brine, or dry rub?