• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Burnt Ends

Started by Batman of BBQ, March 08, 2010, 05:39:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Batman of BBQ

Decided to give burnt ends a try after receiving some great help from Pachanga on the subject.  I skipped (forgot) pics while prepping and smoking the brisket.  I figure we have all seen that before.  Here are the burnt ends.  My 8 year old niece was watching me bring the brisket inside to make the burnt ends and she asked "whats that" I said "brisket" and she replied "it looks burnt!" LOL

After smoking/cooking for 14 hours with an IT of 195* I separate the point from the flat.  I FTC the flat.

Just the point (and my finger)

I dice it up and back into the smoker for 4 hours at 210* with some rub and mop.  I kept the temp low since I'm still new to making burnt ends this way.  I figured this would be safe  ;D

While I waited for the burnt ends I whipped up some jalapeno corn.  This stuff is great!  I got the recipe from this site. (couldn't find the link, sorry)

After 4 hours the burnt ends were done enough for me!  They were very tasty!

Foil was only used to keep warm until serving.

Dinner!

This was a delicious dinner and my wife was impressed, which means she will allow me to make it again!  Thanks to all the gurus, especially Pachanga, on this forum  that helped make this a success!

Don't want to be the best in the world, just the best in my neighborhood.

1 OBS, Nuff Said

MPTubbs

Looking mighty tasty!

Looks like I need to make some burnt ends with my next brisket.

Nice job Batman!
If your so cool....where's your Tattoo.

OU812

Those are some good lookin eats Batman.

I do the same thing with the point.

banditto1969

me likes.  I always wondered if anybody else uses a small pan to catch the drippings rather than let them get wasted in the water pan. 

It makes the best mopping sauce.

OU812

Quote from: banditto1969 on March 08, 2010, 07:21:25 AM