• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Do I need cure??

Started by smokeNcanuck, February 26, 2010, 06:25:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mow_delon

When I use a soy sauce marinade for jerkey, I usually use 1/4 cup of Morton TQ per 5-7 lbs of sliced meat.  I don't think it leaves my jerkey overly salty, but I have not yet used cure #1 for jerkey, so I am not sure what to compare it to.  If I use MTQ, I never add any other salts (I usually use garlic or onion powder in place of the salts), so I son't think that there is much difference in saltiness from cure, in my opinion.

I will also end with the fact that even though I feel I have had good success with tender quick, the comments I have gotten about it on this forum have convinced me that cure #1 is the way to go in sausage and jerkey.  I am making my first sausage with cure #1 this weekend, so I will let you all know how it turns out.

cornfedredneck

Forgive me for my ignorance, I'm new to all of this. What is MTQ and cure #1, #2? If it's package mix then do grocery stores have it or do you get it from sporting good stores?  ???

NePaSmoKer

Quote from: cornfedredneck on May 02, 2010, 09:26:07 AM
Forgive me for my ignorance, I'm new to all of this. What is MTQ and cure #1, #2? If it's package mix then do grocery stores have it or do you get it from sporting good stores?  ???

MTQ can be found at most large grocery stores. The ingredients are different than cure 1 & 2.

MTQ. Mix of salt, sodium nitrite and sugar.

Cure 1 & 2 in most cases can be store bought in places like Cabelas, BPS or Gander Mtn. Also online at sausagemake, allied kenco, LEM.

Cure #1
1 oz sodium nitrite (6.25%) to 1 pound of salt. Can get already mixed at the stores above. Sometimes called pink salt. Normally used in jerky, sausage, semi dry and when smoking or dehydrating.

Cure #2