• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Higher temp with DBS

Started by mtim, September 06, 2010, 05:08:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mtim

Hi all I'm new to this but anxious to get started with a new way of cooking.  I went to Cabela's yesterday and bought the 6 rack DBS.  Came home set it up to season it following the directions.  I had no problems getting smoke but the temps were always higher than the settings.  I set it for 150 and 15 minutes later it was 169.  I lowered it to 140 and it lowered to 165.  I lowered it to 120 and it fell to 149.  It was always 19-25 degrees hotter than what I had it set for.  Is this normal for the seasoning or do I have a problem?  Thanks for any help

Tim

RAF128

I'd say it was normal for a digital.  The temp sensor is on the back wall and right above the heating element.  I've alway got reading higher than the actual temp inside the smoke chamber.  I've checked and confirmed this with a temp probe hanging in the middle.   What you're describing seems to level out some if you have meat in the smoker that is getting up in temp.  You'll also find the bradley digitals have a temp swing.   In mine it was +/- 20º.   I got around it with a PID.
And welcome.   You'll have more questions I'm sure, so ask away.

mtim

Thanks,  I plan on doing a chicken later today so will see what happens.  Also I noticed that the word meat in "oven meat temp"  did not light up during this time.  Just oven temp.  What is a PID and where do you get them Where do you hook them up?  Thanks Tim

classicrockgriller

This is from Aubers web page: