• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

first time brawts

Started by dbondy, February 06, 2011, 05:44:00 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dbondy

Well this is my first try at brawts. I used 100% pork in these, I also split the batch in two. The first 12.5 pounds I added some garlic, black pepper,cayanne and red pepper flakes. The secound 12.5 lbs I just added black pepper. This was also made out of a HM kit, If it turns out half as good as there polish sausage kit I,ll be happy. This was my first try with real casings and it was easier than I thought it would be, I only had a few blow outs. The only problem with the kit was that they didn,t give enough casings, good thing I had the casings for the polish sausage from the other kit I had on hand. It took a little practice but linking them wasn,t to hard and came out good for my first try. I just put the first batch in the OBS so I,ll have to post the finished pics latter.

25lbs of butt roast

ground and divided in half

the spiced up batch

the other half

3rensho

Wow, those are looking mighty fine!!  Great job.  I'd say you done got her nailed.
Somedays you're the pigeon, Somedays you're the statue.

OU812

Niiiiiiice.

Looks like you got the hang of it.  ;D

NePaSmoKer

Hey db

I will bring the rolls and the libation  ;D

Nice brats

pikeman_95

good looking sausage. it looks like you did a fine job of stuffing. Nice plump casings. Looking forward to the final pictures.

Kc

classicrockgriller

Very nice!

Looks like you had a lot of fun this weekend.

Great pics.

dbondy

Thanks guys, just got the first batch off and the second one on.

casings are dry and got the smoke rolling, hope it doesn,t take to long because its going to get cold here tonight around 4F. ???

SouthernSmoked

Oh, heck yeah! Nice looking Brats!
SouthernSmoked
WeQ4u - BBQ Team

KCBS CBJ
(2) - Stainless Steel 4 Rack's with Dual probe PID
1- Digital, 6 Rack
1-PBS
(2) Bradley Cold Smoke Attachment
(2) Backwoods Smokers