• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Pro Chef - First attempt at Jerky.

Started by Hamburgertoday, June 17, 2011, 01:19:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hamburgertoday

I've been perusing this forum for weeks preparing for my first attempt at Jerky.  I am a pro chef and feel that my first attempt had good results but not perfect.  I was a little tired and a little rushed but fortunately my wife agreed to stay up late and pull the jerky out past midnight last night.  below are my notes and a couple of pics.  Feedback is welcome.

•   2.7 lbs of brisket cut 90% against grain 10% with the grain for experimentation.
•   ¾  tsp cure #1 (purchased on ebay) mixed with:
•   8 oz of marinade commercial teriyaki – all natural with wasabi flavor which was not really pronounced in the jerky. Soy Vay brand – I'd prob add about 25%  Kikkoman ponzu sauce next time to add more salt and citrus flavors and maybe a tablespoon of fresh peppercorn for a little spice.
•   15 minute in vacuum tumbler (Reveo)
•   Cooked  almost 5 hours but took over an hour to get temp with about an hour of smoke (which was just about right) in the middle.
•   Used Jim Beam pucks but I think a heavier wood would have been nicer.
•   No water in the catch pan but jerky was slightly acrid I think from the smoldering pucks – will try with water next time.
•   Some pink spots on meat but I liked the pinkish pieces that looked undercooked. Rotation is obviously important. As is removing pieces as they become done. Some pieces were almost black but I think the slightly pinker pieces is just about right for the cook time.
•   Both cuts "across the grain" and "with the grain" were nice. The "with the grain cut" was a little tougher but not distracting.
•   Had a difficult time getting the temps specific but it was my first time using the BS to cook rather than just smoke.
Original instructions:
•   140º for an hour with NO smoke
•   150º for 1.6 hours with Hickory (5 bisquettes) smoke