• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Pork butts, Need advice.

Started by TonyI, November 19, 2005, 02:59:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

boxertrio

Tony,  I just did another 8-9lb butt at 205-210 and it took 13 hours to reach 190.  From some of the older posts, it seemed that people had better luck pulling when meat was cooked longer to a higher temp. All the butts I've done so far (2)have pulled very easily after 2-6 hours FTC.  Try cooking to 190ish, it does take alot longer but is worth the wait.  160 is done, but the fat doesn't bread down and it wont pull.  Mine will stay at 160-170 for hours before it starts climbing again.  I'm just a newbie, but this has worked great so far.  Also Wal-Mart has a digital Pyrex themo for under 10 bucks.

Glenn

White smoke good...Black smoke bad!!
--"Fight back! Whenever you are offered violence, fight back! The aggressor does not fear the law, so he must be taught to fear you. Whatever the risk, and at whatever the cost, fight back!" -- Lt. Colonel Jeff Cooper; USMC

TonyI

Hey Glenn, I am a firefighter also (Lyndhurst Oh. Local 1676).  I do most of my smoking at the firehouse.  The guys really like pulled pork and even in the winter we can put the smoker out in the bays.  The only problem I see in cooking them longer is that I would have to find a way to get them going way before shift change to have them ready for dinner.  I get the idea of longer times for breaking down the fat.  It makes sense, I just need to find a way to get em going earlier so they'll have time to cook and then to ftc for a few hours.  Thanks for the advice.  Tony

boxertrio